Skip to main content

Ensure Real Time Monitoring – Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng

Ensure Real Time Monitoring – Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng

Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng (MP), a Deputy Minister of Finance has tasked the Board of the National Lottery Authority (NLA) to ensure real time monitoring of stakes at shut down to determine those who have won stakes in real time.


He said the situation where the State cannot validate claims of wins is a fatal weakness in the operations of the NLA. Government, he noted, will give all its support to ensure that real time monitoring of wins is realized.


Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng made these remarks when he swore-in the third Board of Directors of the NLA, on behalf of the Minister for Finance, Ken Ofori-Atta.  


“Currently, the NLA generates revenue through the Fixed-Odds Lotto, popularly called the 5/90 Lotto”, he said. Despite its unpredictable and somewhat risky mechanisms, the NLA has over the years realized over GH¢250 million into the consolidated fund,” he noted.


He commended the Director General of NLA, Mr. Kofi Osei-Ameyaw who has within the short period of his appointment, reviewed the operations of the NLA and has come out with short, medium to long term strategies to ensure that revenue targets are met.


“One of the most interesting and exciting strategies is to establish a Public-Private-Partnership platform with not only the illegal operators but also with persons who mean well for Ghana and have the desire to create revenue streams in the lottery industry for national development” he added.


The Chairman of the Board, Torgbui Nyonyo, on behalf of members, thanked the H.E. President Akufo –Addo for the confidence reposed in them.


He promised to ensure that the NLA contributes meaningfully to augment government’s efforts at creating jobs and as well as generating the needed revenue for national development. Torgbui acknowledged the efforts of past management of the NLA and pledged that the Board would improve upon the past for the benefit of all Ghanaians.


The rest of the members of the Board are; Kofi Osei Ameyaw, Henry Yentumi, Adelaide A. Kumi, Helen Apkene Awo Ziwu, Joana Frances Adda, and Phillip Kofi Aning. END