Skip to main content

Ministry of Finance Inaugurates ICT Steering Committee and Communications/Branding Committee

Ministry of Finance Inaugurates ICT Steering Committee and Communications/Branding Committee

Accra, May 17, 2018 – Hon. Kwaku Kwarteng, Deputy Minister for Finance, (Revenue) has inaugurated two committees namely, Ministry of Finance Information Communication Technology (ICT) Steering Committee and the MoF Communications/Branding Committee.

He said the ICT Steering Committee was being established by the Minister for Finance to oversee the planning, development, implementation, monitoring, governance and review of the Ministry’s Information Technology (IT) policies, procedures, practices and guidelines in a strategic and proactive manner.

The Communication/Branding Committee on the other hand, is charged with communicating the aims, objectives and achievements of the Ministry and Government, and is also expected to provide strategic guidance in the design and implementation of branding for the Ministry

He challenged members “to ensure that we communicate our achievements to our stakeholders, so that all will know that the Ministry is delivering on her mandate. You must also position the Ministry and Government positively in the minds of the public, thereby giving it a good perception and image”.

Hon. Charles Adu Boahen, Deputy Minister for Finance, (Finance) who doubles as Chairman of both Committees, expressed gratitude on behalf of the members for the honor to serve. He stressed the need for ICT to be brought to the forefront and elevated from a back office function to a front office function.

“You know technology makes the world go round, information is key and if you don’t have information at your fingertips you can’t do anything and we really are lacking on that front. In fact, I think really and truly, there should even be an ICT Ministry with an ICT Minister who looks at all ICT related issues, because it really is becoming the backbone of many economies across the world” he added.

Members of the ICT Committee include Mr. Samuel Arkhurst, Mr. Michael Mensah, Ms. Agatha Gaisie Nketiah and Mr. Bernard Acquah. The rest are Mr. Dennis Ofori, Ms. Cecilia Akwetey, Mr. Richard Okyere-Fosu, Mr. Alex Amankwah-Poku and Mr. Nana Yaw Minta Botwe.

On branding, Hon. Charles Adu Boahen, expressed the readiness of the committee to ensure that the Ministry was regarded as the one of the best, if not the best, in government.

Members of the Communication and Branding Committee include, Mr. Patrick Nomo, Mrs. Felicia Gyamfi Ashley, Mr. Samuel Arkhurst and Mrs. Stella Williams. Others are, Ms. Cecilia I. Akwetey, Mr. Ekow Turkson, Mr. Kofi Ennin Ms. Ophelia Lamptey and Ms. Dzifa Agbeti. END