Skip to main content

Security and Exchange Commission Board Re-constituted

Security and Exchange Commission Board Re-constituted

Accra, September 4, 2017 - The Finance Minister, Ken Ofori-Atta, has sworn in new Board members of the Securities and Exchange Commission (SEC). He tasked the eleven-member board to ensure that it regulates and streamlines development in the capital market.


Addressing the board, Ken Ofori Atta recalled his role in laying the foundations of the capital market Ghana in the early 1990s till now. This collective effort he said had resulted in some significant progress, including growth in the number of brokers/dealers, asset management companies, collective investment schemes, human capital, listed securities, market capitalisation and the emergence of the bond market.


The Finance Minister reiterated his commitment to ensuring that the capital market brings in the needed investments to facelift the economic outlook of the country.


“As finance minister, I am committed to putting in place the needed steps to ensuring that our macroeconomic stability is achieved and this is where the new board chair of the SEC comes in,” he noted.


The new SEC board Chairman, Dr Yeboa Amoah, pledged to make the capital market more effective and efficient for the development of the national economy which he hoped would inure to the development of the economic goals of government.


Other members of the board included the First Deputy Governor of the Bank of Ghana, Dr. Johnson P. Asiama, Charles Adu Boahen, Depuy Minister of Finance, Paul Ababio, Mrs Jemima Oware, Prof. Kofi Quashigah, Augustine Addo, Dr Joe Amoako Tuffuor, Delia Assimeh and Daniel Ogbarmey Tetteh. END


Source: Public Relations Unit